Singing Loud for All to Hear: My Top Christmas Playlist

Any holiday or occasion is not complete to me without music. Music is the background noise to our memories and even can be a huge part of that memory. You ever hear a song and you automatically are taken back to a specific play and time. You might not remember what was said, but you remember how you felt and you remember that song.

And so for Christmas, these are the songs that do that for me.

  1. Where are you Christmas? 
  2. O! Holy Night
  3. Sleigh Ride- Billy Gilman
  4. Christmas Time is Here- Charlie Brown
  5. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
  6. War is Over- John Lennon
  7. All I Want for Christmas is You
  8. Jingle Bell Rock
  9. That’s Christmas to Me- Pentatonix

My list is short. I am the type of person who does not listen to Christmas music until December and even then, I will not put it on unless I am in the “festive mood” or doing something festive.

Now my WHY for these choices.

  1. Where are you Christmas? hqdefault.jpgThis song makes me sad, honestly every time I hear it I could easily get emotional.  Growing up I was the youngest so I was the last one left in the house as my brother’s grew up and weren’t home any longer. I felt the change in the holidays. The change from opening presents to putting them out myself. To opening them up first thing in the morning to opening them at some point around noon. Still I was lucky; I was lucky to have presents and parents to spend this time with, but the hardest part was since I was living at home, I think I felt the lost of family members most. Each year we had another grave to visit instead of a home. Each year we started to see others less and less because the person who connected our lives was gone. Each year I would learn more about another family member that didn’t make me proud of them as a naive little kid would have been and so I felt like I was losing Christmas and begun to have a cycle of sadness around the holiday. I love this song regardless because it reminds me of those I have lost.
  2. download.jpgO! Holy Night. I was in chorus from elementary school until Senior Year of high school and during high school the final song for the winter show was always O! Holy Night sang with two solos. This song has always been powerful in words and in sound.
  3. download (1).jpgSleigh Ride- Another chorus song…I just loved singing it. I love the rhythm, the joy I can sense in the words. It is exciting.
  4. Image result for charlie brownChristmas Time is Here- We didn’t have cable growing up, but we had 3-5 channels if I held the antenna just right and ABC was one of them. That means Charlie Brown would be on for the holidays! I soon discovered this was my bf now husband’s favorite movie and so everything Charlie Brown became a reminder of him.
  5. 200411161542250.treedance.gifRockin Around the Christmas Tree- I remember singing this in my living room dancing around like a fool most likely in front of my grandmother. I would always play music secretly wanting her to love it.
  6. fe5860fc4fd60f149cabb43f72693393.1000x1000x1.jpgWar is Over- My mother bought the whole John Lennon Christmas CD and had this as a fav.
  7. download (2).jpgAll I want for Christmas is You- Instantly happy & singing. No matter how over played or annoying it gets, I still sing it.
  8. maxresdefault.jpgJingle Bell Rock- It is in Mean Girls so like DUH. And also it just gets me upbeat and moving. It’s one of those songs I think I sound amazing singing when I really don’t.
  9. 61WrVmhuweL._SY300_.jpgThat’s Christmas To Me- This is more modern, but I love a Capella so much. This words, this sound…go listen now.

Honorable mention:

Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer- True story, I tried to change my name to Clarice (the girl reindeer) and told my whole family they HAD to call me that…I don’t remember this. Hello-Clarice.png

The_Killers_Boots.jpgBoots- The Killers: It’s just different and I kinda like different

giphy.gifYou’re A Mean one Mr. Grinch- Because I know every single lyric and used to listen to it at home real loud with my fam

Songs I can’t get over the odd lyrics:

Baby it’s cold outside. But seriously, read/listen to the lyrics.

“I really can’t stay (but baby, it’s cold outside)
I’ve got to go away (but baby, it’s cold outside)

This evening has been (been hoping that you’d drop in)
So very nice (I’ll hold your hands, they’re just like ice)
My mother will start to worry (beautiful what’s your hurry?)
My father will be pacing the floor (listen to the fireplace roar)
So really I’d better scurry (beautiful please don’t hurry)
But maybe just a half a drink more (put some records on while I pour)
The neighbors might think (baby, it’s bad out there)
Say what’s in this drink? (no cabs to be had out there)
I wish I knew how (your eyes are like starlight now)
To break this spell (i’ll take your hat, your hair looks swell)
I ought to say, no, no, no sir (mind if I move in closer?)”
Anyone else feel me on this one?

 

Well, there ya have it. My playlist!

Leave a Reply

